2023 Winners of the William James Book Award

Mortals: How the Fear of Death Shaped Society

What Are the Chances? Why We Believe in Luck

The William James Book Award goes to the best book in general psychology — that is a book that integrates subdisciplines of psychology and related fields — published in the last three years.

This year, two books received the The 2023 William James Book Award, presented by APA Division 1 for the best book in general psychology.

Read More >

2023 Winners of the George A. Miller Award

An Argument for Bad Psychology: Disciplinary Disruption, Public Engagement, and Social Transformation

George A. Miller Award, goes to to an outstanding article published in the last three years that integrates literature from the subdisciplines of psychology and related fields.

Read More >


Dean Keith Simonton

The Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made significant and long-lasting contributions to general psychology, and who’s work exemplifies an integrative and interdisciplinary approach to inquiry, consistent with the mission and goals of Div. 1.

Read More >

2023 Winner of the Authur W. Staats Award

Dr. Nancy Segal

The Arthur W. Staats Lecture was established in 1997 by Peter S. Staats, MD, in honor of his father, Arthur W. Staats, PhD. Each year, the lecturer delivers an address on a body of work which has held great significance for many fields of psychology or has the potential to be extrapolated to have unifying power within the discipline of psychology as a whole.

Read More >

2023 Winners of the Anne Anastasi General Psychology Graduate Student Award

Rita M. Rivera, Psy.D

2+ years beyond the bachelor's degree

Amber Rusch

< 2 years beyond the bachelor's

The Anne Anastasi awards, named for APA past-president and funded by the Anne Anastasi Foundation, are given to two outstanding psychology graduate students, one in the first two years of graduate study and the second in more than two years of graduate study.

Read More >

Apply for Awards & Grants

Apply for one of Division 1's sponsored awards or grants. Winners are presented every year at the APA convention.