The Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made significant and long-lasting contributions to general psychology, and who’s work exemplifies an integrative and interdisciplinary approach to inquiry, consistent with the mission and goals of Div. 1.

2023 Winner

Dean Keith Simonton

Dean Keith Simonton was chosen as the winner of this year’s Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award because The Ernest Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award committee felt that Dr. Simonton’s cumulative work in psychology “exceeded expectations” for each criterion for the award. The committee believes that Dr. Simonton’s expertise in creativity, human intelligence, the psychology of science, integrative approach to psychology, mentorship, and student support through the development of endowed scholarships, and active engagement with Division 1 attest to his lifetime professional accomplishments. The committee commends Dr. Simonton for his contributions to the discipline.

Professor Simonton is Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Psychology at the University of California, Davis. His approximately 600 publications—including 14 books—concern the cognitive, personality, developmental, and social factors behind genius, creativity, and leadership. Honors include the William James Book Award, the George A. Miller Outstanding Article Award, the Theoretical Innovation Prize in Personality and Social Psychology, the Rudolf Arnheim Award for Outstanding Contributions to Psychology and the Arts, the Joseph B. Gittler Award for “the most scholarly contribution to the philosophical foundation of psychological knowledge,” the Arthur W. Staats Lecture for Unifying Psychology, and the Robert S. Daniel Award for Four-Year College/University Teaching. He is currently President of the Society for the History of Psychology (APA, Division 26). You can read more about Professor Simonton at simonton.faculty.ucdavis.edu

Apply for Awards & Grants

Apply for one of Division 1's sponsored awards or grants. Winners are presented every year at the APA convention.